Maybelline Color Show Vintage Leather – 207 Turquoise Temptation

Today I have something from the new Maybelline Color Show Line, called Vintage Leather.  This is another effect polish, where to dries, leaving the nail textured.  This is one of the four colours available in the UK, which we saw in a recent edition of Spotted!

This one is called Turquoise Temptation.  It is quite dark in colour and does have very small flakies within the polish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Right, cards on the table.  This has an awful consistency.  Its gloopy and hard to work with.  I paint my nails nearly every day and I struggled no end.  It dries almost instantaneously.  You may need to do your nails in stripes.  I am a three stripes a nail kinda girl, but the third stripe of polish on my nail would pull up the polish that I had placed on seconds before.  The colour is nice, a good solid teal leaning blue.  Once dry you can see the little flakies on the nail but its not overwhelming.  It does seem to cling to every bump and line on your nail, so next time I will put a base coat on.

However, I stuck with it.  I did two coats on all my fingers, but if you did it thick enough (and didn’t drag any polish off your nails) you might get away with one well placed coat.  No top coat as per other textured polishes.  I am concerned that the polish will be drying out in the bottle as I am doing my nails.  But this is the first one I have tried, so lets see what the remainder are like.

What do you think of the Vintage Leather effect – An effect too far?

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Show Vintage Leather – 207 Turquoise Temptation

  1. I bought the tan coloured one today and found it soooo easy to apply, normally takes ages to do my nails and having a small baby its usually difficult to get the time but he was playing happily and I did both hands and 2 coats in under 5mins, it was brilliant, found the little bumps a bit odd as there is not enough of them so looks like a few fingers were coated in nail varnish with air bubbles! easy to apply though and very happy.

    Like

    • Hi there. Thanks for your comment. I wonder if I picked up a bottle that had been messed with. I do always check the neck if the bottle where I can before buying. I’m ok with little bubbles but agree with you that more would even out the effect. I’ve yet to try the gray or red ones, so watch out for reviews of then

      Like

  2. Pingback: Painted Nails & Baking Scales | Maybelline Color Show Vintage Leather – 212 Mudslide Tote

  3. I’ve got a bottle of this, and the biggest problem for me is that it chips incredibly fast – as in, the same day! I’m not sure I’ll wear mine again 😦

    Like

    • Sadly, that is a huge problem with Matte polishes. It can help if you put on a top coat and then apply a matte top coat over that. The finish isn’t quite the same but it does improve wear time.

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

