Illamasqua – Nightfall

I have a polish that was only released in my city – how exciting.  Nightfall was only available for 4 days in our nearby shopping centre.  Its basically a more gold version of Creator.

Lets head straight to the pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

OK, first things first.  The formula is quite thick, but spreads and levels well.  I did two coats over a base of Glisten & Glow Stuck on Blu!.  It is packed with gold particles.  The gold is quite dark, its not a yellow gold at all.  Drying time was quick too and two coats provided perfect coverage.  To bring on the extra bling, I added a good coat of Glisten & Glow HK Girl top coat, that really helps to bring on the shine.

As with all Illamasqua polishes, you can pop off the black cap revealing a smaller ridged lid.  The brush is thin but adequate for painting nails.  I was able to do three strokes on most nails and two on my smaller ones.  A comment on  wear, by the end of 24 hours I had significant chips on at least three nails.  I’ve not used my G & G HK Girl on Illamasqua before so I am not sure if that might be why.  In the past I have used Seche Vite to great effect.  Next time I will try a different top coat to see if that makes a difference.

What do we think about limited editions such as these?  A gimmick too far?

Illamasqua is readily available across the UK, both in certain stores and online.  Nail Polishes retail around the £14.50 mark.

Don’t forget that you can follow this blog via Bloglovin’, either by clicking the icon to the right or by clicking here. I can also be found on Twitter @BakingNails

19 thoughts on “Illamasqua – Nightfall

  1. OK I know I’m so sad for thinking so far ahead but this is so sophisticated/sexy varnish for Christmas parties – shame about the chipping, be interesting to see how it fares with a different top coat!

    Like

    • Oh that is a great idea, its very Christmas like. I think its probably a combo of base and top coat that resulted in the chipping, it made it very bottle. I will try it with something else, either Seche or Dior Gel Top Coat.

      Thanks for your comment

      Like

  2. Beautiful! And how exciting that it was only available in your city for 4 days! LE’s like that are so special and fun =)

    Like

  3. Oh I love this! Great job on the slide show!

    Like

  4. So jealous you were able to snag this!! Lovely!

    Like

  5. Beautiful! I’ve not really seen LEs only available in 1 city before!

    Like

  6. i love the idea of LE’s.. if one came to Newcastle I’d be camping overnight for it haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

