Maybelline Color Show Brocades – Woven Skyline

So earlier, this week I showed you Rosy Rosettes, the red glitter bomb from this limited edition collection. This one is the black and silver glitter bomb known as Woven Skyline.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wore this one over a coat of Color Show Oynx Black, as again I was unsure if it would be opaque or not.  Application was a bit dollop and spread to ensure it coated the entire nail.  I used two coats of Woven Skyline for the pictures above – as before with a base coat of Glisten & Glow Stuck on Blu! and a top coat of HK Girl.

As I mentioned before in the US, the Brocades line had 10 polishes in it, whereas we have 4.  Each of recent limited editions, such as the Polka Dots and Vintage Leather, has been 4.  I’d like to try some of the other US ones too – who knkows what I will find on my trip stateside.

Its super pretty, a great mix of black polish and black and silver glitter.  But, again, its not the best wearer in the world.  It chipped very quickly and started to peel off.  Its almost as if it goes very brittle and then just shatters off.  Such as shame as its right up my street.

You can pick up Color Show polishes from most drugstores and some larger supermarkets.  RRP for the Brocades is £3.99 but at the moment there are a number of 3 for 2 offers in both Boots and Superdrug.

So, which Brocade is your favourite?  Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Show Brocades – Woven Skyline

  1. I bought this last week – I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be a textured polish or not lol. I have yet to try it but it looks like it will be pretty xx

    Like

  2. I bought the Rosy Rosettes which was like you said dollop and spread. It looked very pretty and effective when on but it did start to chip after 2 days and then you try and take it off. This is when the nightmare begins. I always hold my nail varnish remover soaked cotton wool on my nail for a good 30 seconds before wiping…I had to leave it a minute and more and then when you try and wipe if off the cotton wool sticks the nail.

    Very pretty but be prepared for a struggle to get it off.

    Like

    • Hi Fiona, thanks for your comment. Couldn’t agree more about the removal, its a PITA!

      The first time I could have cried…. next time I had used a second coat of top coat and then peeled it off in pieces (wouldn’t recommend that of course). The third time I used ripped up pieces of cotton balls soaked in acetone and put them on my nails until they went very cold. It kind of came off a bit better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

