Maybelline Color Show Be Brilliant – Skyline Blue

I’ve taken a quick break from the few polishes I bought in the US to share with you the Maybelline Color Show Be Brilliant polishes that I’ve been wearing.  I previously posted about Spotting these here and here – so do check those posts out too. These are glitter toppers, meaning that they are clear or lightly tinted in the base and packed with glitter.  This is the first one I got on my nails, this is the blue from the set, called Skyline Blue.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I popped Skyline Blue over a base of Wet N Wild Echo Dark (previously seen here) and it works fabulously!  The dark blue really makes the glitters pop and shine, and then when locked in with a shiny top coat, the effect it quite eye catching.

Its a mix of blue, purple and smaller silver pieces.  There is some light blue in there too!  I have one issue with these, and that is the application and formula.  They are quite gloopy, so I’d suggest you check the bottle before you bring it home.  I opened several of the bottles as when I picked them up there were large air pockets at the side and when I rolled the polish it didn’t move.  That was a bit of a warning sign so I opened it and it was exceptionally gloopy.  I picked up a second and it was better but still gloopy.  I checked all the bottles and others I have seen to ensure that it wasn’t just mine.

That said, it is quite easy one the glitter is on the brush to get it onto the nail.  This is one or two passes with the brush so coverage is variable.

I was surprised not to have too many blue/purple glitters in the stash, so this was a welcome addition.  Let me know what you think in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

Don’t forget that you can follow this blog via Bloglovin’, either by clicking the icon to the right or by clicking here. I can also be found on Twitter @BakingNails

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Show Be Brilliant – Skyline Blue

  1. This is beautiful. I am definitely going to keep my eyes open for this one!

    Like

  2. This is gorgous! Don’t think I’ve seen this one in my boots. Shame about the gloopy formula though but you totally made it work!

    Like

  3. This looks so good, lovely and sparkly! May be picking one of these up soon…

    Like

  4. This looks lush! 😀 I’d like to know how it is for removal, when you get that far? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

