Claire’s – Leopard Top Coat

I have a polish I picked up from Claire’s in their recent £2 polish promotion, can’t really argue at that price! I was super intrigued by this polish as it has black leopard spot shaped glitter in it, along with some lovely blue leaning flakies and shimmer. Lets see how I got on…..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What you see here is one drop and spread blob on polish over a base of Nella Milano Crystal Coral* (review coming soon).  Now I will be blunt, this was a NIGHTMARE to work with.

There is simply too much base coat per spot ratio.  Meaning that in order to get the few you see on my nails here, I had to fish, for a while and do the wipe and grab technique on the neck of the bottle.  The base if very thick so I have probably gunked up my bottle to the point of it never opening again – despite cleaning it!  I probably could have guessed that by looking at it, but I really wanted to see what it looked like.

I really love the flakies, and who doesn’t, but its horrid.  The effect is OK, but perhaps over a darker colour, such as a gray or purple I’d probably get a better look.  On the plus side, the flakies lie flat as does the glitter.  Although as my top coat was drying I did push it down with my nail just to make sure it wasn’t going to spring up and annoy me when dry.

You can find it here on the Claire’s website, RRP is £3.50 although I bought mine in a promotion.  Have you tried this polish?  Did you have more luck than me?  Let me know what you think in the comments.

Don’t forget that you can follow this blog via Bloglovin’, either by clicking the icon to the right or by clicking here. I can also be found on Twitter @BakingNails

*Disclosure: This product was sent to me for review but this does not influence the opinions expressed in this blog which are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

