Barry M – Gelly Coconut

Today I have one of the new Barry M Gelly Polishes for your viewing pleasure.  This one is called Coconut – and is the loveliest shade of just off white I have seen in a long tim.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I must admit, despite having a few Barry M Gelly polishes, I’m not completely sold on the formula of them.   I always find them quite streaky during application and prone to dragging if you aren’t careful. One the positive, they do tend to level out and once top coated look pretty lovely – plus lets be honest, the colour range is spectacular.

This one was quite streaky on application.  Most nails have two coats, but on one or two nails, I had to add a third coat to cover bald spots.  This is over a base of G&G Stuck on Blu! and topped with a coat of G&G HK Girl.  Wear was shocking, I lasted overnight before chips appeared.  Really disappointing as I adore the shade and think it will be great under glitter and stamping.

Some of the new Summer 2014 Gelly’s are just lovely – I could possibly be tempted with more – but it will have to be in a 3 for 2 promotion.  Otherwise I’m sorry to say I won’t be buying them because of the issues with the formula I seem to have.  I know that other bloggers adore these and perhaps its my combination of base and top coats.  I will try these again with a different combination.

Are you into the 2014 Gelly’s?  What top and base coats do you wear with yours?  Let me know in the comments!

Don’t forget that you can follow this blog via Bloglovin’, either by clicking the icon to the right or by clicking here. I can also be found on Twitter @BakingNails

8 thoughts on “Barry M – Gelly Coconut

  1. O wow, it looks so yummy I can almost smell the coconut!

    Like

  2. I too was tempted by this colour but in the end I got a different two from this collection…I find one very thin and then thicker coat works well with the darker colours in this range but the lighter ones I find work better if you try a matte undercoat although the lighter ones I do find sometimes need 3 coats or try a thin white base first….gorgeous swatches and very informative post. …Thank you xxx

    Like

  3. Coconut is the most perfect base for nail art. I also think the Summer Collection is gorgeous!

    Like

  4. Totally got this because I saw this post! I love it

    Like

Leave a comment