OPI Liquid Sand – Stay The Night

I’m a little bit behind showing you some of my new purchases, but I don’t think that really matters.  Recently I was able to pick up a set of the Mariah Carey OPI Liquid Sand Minis via a website called Buyapowa, its basically a site where the more people who buy the cheaper items become.  I paid £6.50 plus P&P for the set, not bad I don’t think!

Anyway, first up is the one liquid sand that I had to own, Stay the Night.  A mix of almost black sand with a hint of a glittery ruby red.  Its lovely.  The description on the back of the box reads ‘make is last in this matte black with red glints’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am super suprised at how ‘mini’ these mini polishes feel in my hand.  They hold 3.75ml of product.  But I reckon you would get a good five or six two coater manis out of them – if not more.  As with all liquid sands (or texture polishes) they do not require a top coat.  They do require a fair amount of drying time.  The formula on this one with thick but not unworkable.  It coats the nail with a smokey glistening layer before drying very matte.  I left quite a bit of time between coats.

What you see above is three coats on all nails.  I was going to stop at two but I could see small areas where the polish wasn’t evenly spread and it would have annoyed me.  I did use a base of Seche Clear, just to protect my nail from direct contact with the polish.  It does take an age to dry, the first coat wasn’t too bad but the second one took a long time and then the addition of the third just added more time.  However, I think its worth it.

The final finish is quite smooth, I would say its a bit rougher than the Zoya Pixie Dusts, but it does provide a different type of finish and look.  I do like this one, now I just need to convince myself that I don’t need the full size version!

OPI can be bought in the UK from a number of different retailers including Lena White, Amazon and Sally (instore only it seems) – there are others so do shop around.  The RRP for full size Liquid Sand on the Lena White site (the official UK reseller of OPI) is £11.50 and for the mini set that I purchased elsewhere is £13.95.

OPI are releasing more liquid sands in different collections, including one in the new Wizard of Oz range and some more James Bond polishes based on the Bond Girls. What do you think?  Own any Liquid Sands yet?

3 thoughts on “OPI Liquid Sand – Stay The Night

  1. Pingback: Painted Nails & Baking Scales | OPI Liquid Sand – The Impossible

  2. Pingback: Painted Nails & Baking Scales | Speedy Swatches – Maybelline Color Show Crystallize Collection

  3. Pingback: Painted Nails & Baking Scales | Maybelline Color Show Crystallize – Red Excess

Leave a comment